Today’s post shouldn’t surprise anyone, but it’s time to formalize it.

Seachop is officially on hiatus for the foreseeable future. I started this blog as a resource for prospective supply corps officers, to help them understand life as a typical supply JO, namely during that first tour. I like to think I’ve accomplished that goal.

Well, I am no longer a first tour JO. Orders stamped, two bells, LTJG departing. I’m not leaving the Navy; I’m still standing the watch, but I have transferred to a shore command, where there is no such thing as a typical tour. I might come back to Seachop in the future; if I go back to sea as a SUPPO, I’ll once again be in a position to mentor JOs, but for now it’s time for me to move on.

For those who are just discovering Seachop and are considering a career in the Navy or the Supply Corps. please dig through the archives. I think you’ll find a lot of valuable information (but keep in mind my knowledge of OCS is leftover from 2010–those who live by the gouge die by the gouge).

To the folks who knew me in real life and read Seachop to keep tabs on me, you haven’t heard the last of me. Stand by to stand by.

To the officer candidates, ENSs, and LTJGs I’ve talked to over the last (almost) three years, keep up the good work. I’ve already met some of you out in the fleet, and I hope our paths cross again.

Fair winds and following seas!