A local JO first known to me as “Marmoset” was kind enough to point out that I’ve been lazy of late. I countered that life in the yards is hardly exciting enough for the internet. That’s about when I remembered that I had (and still have) approximately 1,314* pictures from deployment chilling on my hard drive. And by “approximately” I mean “exactly.” The majority are just snapshots of JOs doing what JOs do best (posing in front of famous landmarks, making stupid faces, or lounging in the JO jungle playing GTA not noticing that someone is documenting it in order to make fun of them later), but I have a few gems tucked away. A picture is worth a thousand words, but I’ll do you one better and even add commentary. Here we go.

Is this Pictionary with impressionist painters?

Is this Pictionary with impressionist painters?

“Oh Disbo,” (I imagine you saying) “what is this nonsense? Perhaps you should invest in a better camera?” Probably, but that’s point. That, ladies and gentlemen, was my first view of Spain following a 10ish day TRANSLANT a little over a year ago, the first week of the longest 8 months of my life. You’ll have to excuse my failure to properly capture the enormity of that moment as happiness that I was seeing dry land again (albeit with a lot of water in the foreground). Let’s see if I can’t find you a better shot.

P1000134

There we go! That’s much better. A quaint little fishing boat with Rota in the background. You can see the houses and everything. I would have preferred a sunnier day for my first seafaring adventure, but hey. Land. I wasn’t about to complain. A chance to stretch my legs literally and linguistically (in theory I used to speak Spanish. It was a little rusty by the time I got to Rota). You work all day, then you wander around eating tapas and drinking sangria all night. Have I already told stories about shore patrol? I can’t remember. I was on shore patrol in Rota. For the record, the middle of the night in January in coastal Spain can get a tad chilly. Let’s have a look at the town.

Oooo that's pretty.

Oooo that’s pretty.

As is that!

As is that!

That sign says exactly what you think it says.

That sign says exactly what you think it says.

And then you have Sam’s American Store. And what exactly, pray tell, so they sell at Sam’s American Store? Fruit loops, cake mix, potato chips, and Christmas candy. Yep. Amurica. Welcome to Rota.

*Please note that I won’t be showing a picture a day for the next 3.6 years. I’ll be a little choosey for the sake of brevity, which is (so it has been said) the soul of wit. That’s it, too much caffeine late at night.

